skip to Main Content
CALL NOW! 03 546 7681

New Zealand Biosecurity Awards 2020 – ENTRIES OPEN

It takes all of us to protect what we’ve got but there are a few biosecurity champions worth celebrating – could this be you or someone you know?

Calling all biosecurity champions – entries are now open!

We’re recognising the incredible individuals and teams who are working hard to help ensure our country and its unique environment is safe from pests and diseases through their contributions – through science, research, and innovations – to biosecurity.

It takes all of us to protect what we’ve got but there are a few biosecurity champions worth celebrating – could this be you or someone you know?

Which category to enter 

The Biosecurity Awards acknowledge people and organisations across Aotearoa who are contributing to biosecurity. The categories are:

  • DOC Community Pihinga Award
  • DOC Community Kahiwi Award
  • Kura (School) Award (new award in 2020)
  • Māori Award
  • GIA Industry Award
  • Eagle Technology Local and Central Government Award
  • Bio-Protection Research Centre Science Award
  • Mondiale Innovation Award

You can also nominate an up-and-coming leader for the AsureQuality Emerging Leader Award, or to recognise a lifetime commitment to biosecurity you can nominate a group, organisation or individual for the Minister’s Biosecurity Award.

2019 DOC Community Pihinga Award finalist – Aorere College

Kura (school) Award – a new award for 2020

This new award is open to teams, classes, rōpū, and enviro-groups in early childhood centres, primary, intermediate and secondary schools who are doing amazing projects and programmes to support biosecurity. The winning group will receive a $2,500 cash prize.

2019 DOC Community Pihinga Award finalist – Dave Edwards, Field trial for ship rat control

Celebrating our community groups  

We have two DOC Community Award categories, one for established programmes (Kahiwi, heart of a tree trunk) longer than 18 months, and for new programmes (Pihinga, begin to grow) started in the past 18 months. Each winner receives a $2,500 cash prize.

2019 Industry Award Winner – Livestock Improvement Corporation

Supporting our industry to succeed

New Zealanders depend on a robust biosecurity system for our social and economic survival. The GIA Industry Award recognises those organisations, associations or individuals in business that help protect Aotearoa from biosecurity threats.

Entries open until 30 July 2020. 

Find out more about the Award categories and criteria, or download A Guide to Entering.

​You can enter more than one category and it’s easy to enter online!

If you or someone you know is doing great work to protect New Zealand against pests and diseases, it’s time to shine a light on their achievements.

Article type: News and information

Contact Name: New Zealand Biosecurity Awards

Contact Email: [email protected]

Back To Top